First week of dieting

17 Jan

This will be a short post. I’m exhausted. I’ve been dieting for an entire week (Sunday – Sunday) and I’ve been on a full stack (more on that later) since Wednesday. I have not been getting enough sleep, which I mostly attribute to the stack. Tonight I will add in ZMA and Valerian Root about 30 minutes before bedtime and hopefully that will help.

I weighed myself for the first time today. 3 weigh ins, 154, 152, 152. So, we’ll go with something around 153 lbs. I did not weight myself a week ago. I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. But the mirror told me I was creeping up into a category I really did not want to be in. I wasn’t surprised by my weight today, but of course until you really start to see the numbers come off, it is hard to not be disappointed. My husband keeps me motivated. He tells me he can already see my transformation. That will keep me going until my next weigh in (next week). My goal is to lose about 2 lbs per week. I want a very steady weight loss. It helps me to retain the most muscle I can.

My diet got better as the week wore on, and what I mean by that is that I increased my fibrous carbs and I ate on a better 2-3 hour schedule. I’ve put my diet below. If you see “protein” it could be anything from chicken to pork to turkey to salmon to tilapia. All lean of course. If you see “complex carb” it is either sweet potato (1/2 large) or a 1/2 cup of brown rice. Fibrous carb is generally green beans or broccoli.

I do believe in a “cheat” day or meal. This week (and most weeks) my cheat meal was on Friday night, which is “date night”. I ate out at one of our most favorite restaurants. I had a glass of Shiraz, a large caprese salad (omg so delish!), a chicken breast and string beans (steamed). So you can see that by “cheat” I don’t mean Snickers and Bojangles all day. I mean indulging in something that makes you happy if you want to. If not, then just stick to your regular diet.

OK, that’s it for me tonight. Til next time…

Steph

Watch Me Do It

Diet

Meal 1: 1/2 cup dry oatmeal w/ water, 1.5 TBSP golden flax, 4 egg whites

Meal 2: 4-5oz Protein, fibrous carb, complex carb

Meal 3: Salad with lots of veggies,  2 TBSP red wine vinaigrette (3:1 ratio of olive oil and red wine vinegar) and about 4oz protein

Meal 4: Same as Meal 2. (Sometimes without the complex carb.)

Meal 5: 2 scoops Protein Powder with water (after gym)

Stack

AM: VPX Meltdown fatburner (8 weeks only) (2x before Meal 1)

CLA (1x)

L-Carnitine (1 TBSP)

Multi-vitamin

Afternoon: CLA (2x with meals)

L-Carnitine (1 TBSP before gym)

NO Explode (2 scoops 30-45 min before gym – can be replaced with Arginine supplement)

BCAA (2x before gym)

PM: Glutamine (with protein after gym)

BCAA (2x after gym)

ZMA (30-45 min before bed)

Valerian Root (30-45 min before bed0

*Note: The BCAA can wreck your stomach if you start taking the “full” suggested serving right away. I suggest starting out with 1 BCAA before the gym the first week, and the second week, increase it up to 4/ day. If you start feeling nauseous, cut back. Also, I need to incorporate more Vitamin C. The more I read about it, the more I think it is absolutely necessary, and in generally large quantities (5-10g/day). I will let you know when I start doing that.

