My diet this week

22 Jan

Just thought I would post a quick update on the diet I’ve been following. Its a bit more strict than the first week of dieting. All this week, I have been eating about the same thing, about the same time of day. That I work from home is a big bonus because I can easily do that. Here is my eating schedule:

6:30 AM (following an AB workout): 1/2 c. oatmeal or 1 whole wheat English muffin, 1 TBSP flax seed, 4 egg whites.

9:30 AM: 4 oz turkey, salmon, or chicken, about 1/2 -1 c. green beans, 1/2 sweet potato

12:30PM: 2 scoops of protein power (with 23g protein ea.) mixed with water

3:30PM: “Happy Chicken” – A recipe acquired from an old bodybuilding book called “Sliced” (and re-named by my husband). It consists of chicken, a few peas, red bell pepper, and onion.

After gym: 4oz. turkey, salmon, or chicken and green beans OR salad with 2 oz chicken, 1/2 c. chick peas and lots of different veggies w/ 1-2 TBSP oil and vinegar dressing

I do not include any heavy complex carbs in my diet in the afternoon/evening (peas and chickpeas are considered complex carbs, but I do not eat very much of either and usually do not eat both on the same day). However, fibrous carbs are included in every meal.

My goal is to ingest about 150 g. of protein daily so that I do not lose muscle while dieting. Many bodybuilders suggest 1.2x  up to 3.0x protein per lb. of body weight, but I find it difficult to get to that level. However, if I find that I am not seeing the results that I want, one of the things I will do is try to boost my protein intake.

