The scale is broken!

24 Jan

The scale is broken! How many times have you felt that before?! But today it happened to me and it wasn’t a joke! I was so ready for my next weigh in and I get on the scale and it said 153. That can’t be! Then I get on again and it said 158. Hmmm…Again, 154.5. So after moving the scale around the bathroom and trying it 10+ times and getting 10+ different readings, I KNEW that the scale was broken! I immediately went online, read some reviews, and bought the Health O Meter HDL820-18 Digital Scale ($25) from Amazon.com.

I will get my new (and hopefully properly working) scale on Wednesday and weigh in again on Thursday morning (today is Sunday).

So today was a great lesson in experiencing ups and downs, especially during this first phase of dieting down. I really wanted to go “Office Space” on that scale and beat it into a million pieces! But nothing goes smoothly all the time and I take solace in the fact that I know I’m doing the right thing, I’ve been following my diet spot on and I’ve been a beast in the gym! It will happen, I just have to be patient. My pants are fitting much better and I can already see progress in the mirror.

One note slightly off topic — since I am eating a pretty strict, somewhat dull, diet, I find that great pieces of protein can really make my day. It is worth buying super fresh fish if you can find a local person that sells it. Through a friend, I found a guy that sells all kinds of fresh seafood and sells it on Saturdays about 10 minutes from my house. The salmon literally melts in your mouth. Yum! Totally worth the extra effort too seek it out. Taking the time to buy fresh green beans (vs. frozen) and buying fresh eggs also makes my meals much tastier. I am lucky to live down the street from a farm, but you can find them at your local Farmer’s Market too.

Til next time…

Steph

Watch me do it!

