The power of willpower

25 Jan

Last night, we went down to my parents’ house to watch the last games of the Playoffs and to eat dinner. If you are looking for any kind of delicious snack, meal or dessert you can imagine, my mom will have it. She had potato chips, pretzels, caramel popcorn, and peanuts out when we got there. For dinner, she had baked ziti and garlic toast that made the house smell wonderful. For dessert, she brought out brownies, three different types of cookies, and ice cream to the livingroom.

What did I eat? Plain chicken breasts and cut green beans. Was it fun eating my dull meal? Not really, but it wasn’t awful either. But when we left, I felt great. Because I was still on my diet, I wasn’t bloated, and I had no guilt. And when you realize that you are not any less happy for not eating things that do not help you build a better body, it makes the experience even better. I had a great time hanging out with my family and although it sure did look and smell wonderful, had I stuffed myself with all of those  things, I’m certain it wouldn’t have made those few hours any better. (I know because I’ve done it plenty of times before.)

I have a goal, but more than that, I am becoming a new person. Willpower makes me powerful. Feeling powerful in your body and feeling in control of your body is an amazing thing. It really is kind of cool! I hope to teach my kids that. It is one of the reasons I decided to make a goal and live as the kind of person that I feel that I am inside.

As a side note, I am starting to feel a little “emptier” now that my metabolism is revving up. It’s not a hungry feeling, per se, but just different from a feeling you get when your diet consists of more carbs and sugars. Today is Day 16 of my diet (of 80), so while I’m still very much in the beginning, this is good — it means that I am on the right track.

I’m looking forward to the gym tonight — it is arm day, plus 30 minutes of cardio. Yesterday I did chest and shoulders and ran 3 miles. The gym is one of my most favorite parts of the day.

Until next time…

Steph

Watch me do it!

