When cheating becomes a mistake

6 Feb

As I’ve said before, I think that giving yourself the option to have a cheat meal on a weekly basis is a good idea in any diet, because even if you don’t choose it, you know its there and for some reason, it helps to ease the stress of the diet. That said, you have to learn your body and to learn when cheating becomes a mistake. I’m a slightly more unique case because I have a condition known as Ulcerative Colitis, or U.C. It affects the large intestine, which becomes inflamed. Google for details, I won’t go into them here but let me tell you, it is not fun.

Generally, I have been able to keep my U.C. under control with diet and exercise, but it still rears its ugly head when I eat too much sugar, things with high fat content (especially greasy and fried foods) and just too much food in one sitting. Last night, we went to one of our favorite spots, Mickey & Mooch. It was my “cheat” meal, so I got a caprese salad in addition to my chicken breast and green beans. I also had a glass of wine and a piece of chocolate cake. I think the combination of the amount of food plus the cake and wine was just too much for my body to take and I’ve been paying the price ever since.

So, clearly, I have to learn from this and realize that “cheat” for me may mean a great piece of fruit or one extra carb. This feeling right now is  pretty much what I lived through the last few months of 2009 because I was eating so much junk and it is horrible. I never want to feel it again if I can help it!

I know myself and getting through this will probably take most of the day, but clean eating will help heal it. I guess my body thinks that chocolate cake on a diet is pretty ridiculous too!

Today is the last day of Week 4. Really excited about the next 4 weeks, when I should start to see some dramatic results.

Until next time…

Steph

Watch me do it!

