Two-a-days

14 Feb

After some discussion with my hubby this morning, I’ve decided to start 2-a-days a little earlier than I had originally planned. 2-a-days include my regular workout + additional morning cardio prior to Meal 1. For most days of the week, this means I will be at the gym twice a day. The last time I did 2-a-days (for about 4 months in 2008 when I was dieting along with my husband, but did not have any specific goals), I felt like I lived at the gym. I’m sure I’ll feel the same way this time, but I also think it’s necessary to get to the point I want to be at March 31.

A Valentine's Gift from my Wonderful Hubby

I’ll start 2-a-days on Monday (tomorrow) and do them Monday – Thursday. So during those days, I’ll be doing an additional 45-60 minutes of cardio each day. I’ll still do my ab workout at home as usual, but I’ll also incorporate more weighted abs at the gym since it will be convenient. Today is the beginning of Week 6, so I still have 7 full weeks of dieting. I’ll see how it goes over the next 2 weeks with adding in the extra cardio and if I feel like I need more by the time Week 8 rolls around, I’ll bump it up to include Saturday and Sundays as well.

Two-a-days are  not sustainable over a long period of time (who has that much time to spend at the gym?!), and can really wear you out! I also don’t consider them to be very healthy because you are putting your body under a lot of stress. But its something I knew I would have to do to meet my goal, and it is fine to do short-term if you are getting in your 7-8 hours of rest a night and consistently taking a good multivitamin. Without kids and out of work, I’m a very lucky girl to have the time and resources to do it right now (it’s all about looking at the bright side of things, right?).

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Steph

One Response to “Two-a-days”

  1. mom February 14, 2010 at 3:09 PM #

    could this bear be ANY cuter??? or could YOU be any more motivated??? GO Girl!! wish I still had your energy and determination at age 57, but feel fortunate that I can still swim 1 1/2 miles non-stop/4X week. I agree that you will definately need your sleep….that’s always the #1 thing that makes or breaks good workouts for me.

Comments are closed.

