Nothing is perfect! Just keep going.

18 Feb

This morning I weighed in at 152, about 0.6 lbs down from last week.* I don’t have a specific goal weight, but I do know that I need to continue to lose a considerable amount of weight (anywhere from 10 – 15 lbs) to get the look I want. So, the number on the scale today was a little disappointing.

The reason I’m writing this is because, very often, I feel like people talk about their diets and tend to gloss over the more negative emotional aspects of the process. Yet, it is something you have to combat on a daily basis. Dieting is not easy! I think women especially are prone to an emotional roller coaster on a diet. All you can do is try to stay as optimistic as possible, focus on the positive things, and remember that plateaus happen to everyone and getting past them is just another challenge. Some weeks you lose more, some weeks, less. This week I still lost weight, so the good thing is that I’m going in the right direction.

The number on the scale today also means that I probably started 2-a-days at just the right time. Cardio in the AM on an empty stomach is one of the most suggested approaches to breaking through a plateau. There are other things to remember too. I’m entering brand new territory, and my body may be resistant at first. Also, given that I’ve doubled my protein intake, I could be adding a bit of (heavier) muscle as well.

I’m just glad I don’t have any of that horrible guilt that comes with knowing that I did not eat or train correctly this week. I’ve stuck to both very well. The rule is that you can’t complain if you are sabotaging yourself!

I have quads and 30 more minutes of cardio tonight, then tomorrow I will take the day off from training, although I’ll stay active by cleaning the house (one good thing about cleaning is that it does burn calories! :)).

Steph

Watch me do it!

*If you read my older posts where I talk about weight, I was weighing myself on a scale that did not work properly. The day I got my new scale, 3 weeks ago, I weighed 156.4 lbs.

