Homemade Larabars

22 Feb

I’ve been searching for a good energy bar to make for my sister Jillian. She’s in college and needed a healthy snack to eat during long, late-night labs or to grab between classes. After looking at a few recipes that all seemed to have too many ingredients for my intermediate cooking skills, a friend suggested Larabars, which are fantastic and have very few (often 3 or less) ingredients. The only problem is that they are pretty expensive. (The lowest price I’ve seen is $1.29 at Trader Joes but I’ve seen them as high as $2.00).

So, I did a little Googling and I came across an amazing blog called “Enlightened Cooking” and found a recipe for homemade Larabars. The link to the blog and the recipe is here:

Enlightened Cooking – Homemade Larabars

These bars have 2 main ingredients – dried fruit and nuts. If you have a food processor, you’re in business. I made three kinds, one with dates and cashews, one with dates, cranberries, and cashews, and one with prunes and cashews (yes, prunes sound disgusting, but you’ll change your mind about them after you’ve tried these bars).  The best thing is that I made the bars super cheaply. I bought the dried fruit for $1 a box at Walgreens and the cashews (unsalted, not roasted) at Trader Joes for $4.99.

3 Ingredients = Awesome Energy Snack

Although they are really good, I can’t say I’ll be eating many of these on my diet — the sugar in the fruit and the pretty heavy fat content from the nuts doesn’t make them ideal for rapid fat loss. Cashews are a pretty fatty nut, so almonds or walnuts are probably the better choices if you are on a diet or closely watching your weight. But, they are great for travel and if you are pretty active and hitting the gym hard, I don’t see any reason why they can’t be eaten on a daily basis on a “maintenance” diet. You can also cut them in half or into thirds for a sweet, but healthy, dessert at the end of the day.

If you happen to make these, let me know how they turned out!

Steph

Watch me do it!

3 Kinds of Homemade Larabars

