Going off the crack

24 Feb

I have been taking a fat burner every day for over 7 weeks now but I think it’s time to wean myself off of it. I used to take a fat burner with Ephedra called Stimerex, but I decided to go Ephedra-free this go around and went with VPX Meltdown.

Searching for a fat burner is a little overwhelming. I bought mine at www.bodybuilding.com, and you can go through a list of over 250 products, all that promise to increase thermogenesis and accelerate your metabolism to get you “extreme” and “hardcore” results.

I try not to even look at the ingredients. Stuff like “4-Methylsulfanylbutanoic Acid” and “Synephrine HCL” just seems scary. (Although Syntrax Fyre has an ingredient called “Velvet Bean Extract” which I’ll leave you to make your own conclusions about.) I ended up with VPX because I’d tried a few samples before and honestly, I think I’d see about the same results from any product that I chose.

I take 2-3 capsules of VPX every morning and I can’t say I don’t like the feeling – its like an instant buzz and it helps me to wake up, especially for early morning cardio. But, I can tell the effects are wearing off because it used to curb my hunger but does not help with that anymore. I also think that anything like this should be cycled. It helped me to start the process and now that I’ve got the momentum going I can finish without it. I’ll still drink lots of green tea during the day, because I’m a big believer in caffeine for fat burning.

So goodbye VPX for now. I will start to take NO EXPLODE along with my other supplements, which I could not take with the fat burner because I wasn’t able to get any sleep. The main thing I’m going after in the NO EXPLODE is the L-Arginine, which helps to repair muscle tissue, but the product is also good for an energy boost.

I’ll post a new picture next Monday (March 1). I am thinking about getting an airbrush tan because my husband insists that having some color helps. I agree with him, but I refuse to sit in a tanning bed, so I’m still unsure what I want to do because I don’t want to be orange or overly tan. I’ve tried the tinted lotions but those don’t give you a very deep color. Decisions, decisions…

Steph

Watch me do it!

4 Responses to “Going off the crack”

  1. citysteps February 24, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

    can’t wait to see your new picture, sis. had a much better workout this morning — call you later with stories 🙂

    • Stephanie February 24, 2010 at 1:04 PM #

      Good I’m so glad! Can’t wait to hear stories!

  2. anonymous February 24, 2010 at 10:57 AM #

    how would you respond to someone who immidiately jumps to the conclusion that “fat burners like VPX can’t be good for your body. Shouldn’t you be doing this without the addition of pills?”

    • Stephanie February 24, 2010 at 1:03 PM #

      It’s a personal decision and like everything, one you have to weigh for yourself. I felt like I needed help getting over that initial hump in the beginning and that a fat burner could help me do that. Now that I’m passed that point, I’m ready to stop using it.

Comments are closed.

