Moving quads to tomorrow

25 Feb

There is a reason people only take on a diet like this for 12-16 weeks. It is both mentally and physically taxing, especially when considering the time spent in the gym. I’m doing 8.5 hours of cardio per week plus lifting 4 days a week. It took two full weeks of 2-a-days at the gym, but it finally came – pure exhaustion.

I knew it would happen, but hoped I could get as far through the diet as possible before the signs of over-training showed up. For me the signs include a feeling of lethargy, a runny nose and slightly sore throat. The supplements I’m taking (including L-Glutamine and Vitamin C) both help to boost the immune system. But the body is not used to such drastic changes, and it is bound to push back.

THE Champion (isn't he cute?! *sigh*)

So what do I do now?

First, I know that I must be smart about what I do and listen to what my body is saying. Today’s AM cardio session was tough. I didn’t want to be there and that’s very unusual for me. So, I’ll probably take a rest this afternoon and go in for my quad workout tomorrow. Although Fridays are typically a full rest day, I think this will be for the best.

Second, anyone who has done a diet like this knows that the last few weeks on the diet aren’t meant to be fun. They are meant to get results. I love this Arnold quote. He was talking about lifting here, but what he says can apply to all areas of bodybuilding:

“The last three or four reps is what makes the muscle grow. This area of pain divides the champion from someone else who is not a champion. That’s what most people lack, having the guts to go on and just say they’ll go through the pain no matter what happens.”

-Arnold Schwarzenegger

So I will push on, focus on the end goal, and have a fantastic quad workout…tomorrow!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

2 Responses to “Moving quads to tomorrow”

  1. Jillian February 25, 2010 at 4:04 PM #

    Keep it up sister! You’re doing great.

  2. Lisa February 25, 2010 at 3:30 PM #

    I didn’t know you were doing a blog! That;s awesome 🙂 Can’t wait to see the results!!

Comments are closed.

