March 1 Progress Picture

1 Mar

I spent a great day with my mom today. We made a delicious dish called “Moroccan Tofu Tagine with Jeweled Cous Cous“, a Vegetarian Times recipe winner that I found through one of the blogs I read. With 22 ingredients and four “steps”, it took over an hour and a half to make, but it was fun to hang out and have some “mom” time.

Today marks the end of Day 2, Week 8 of my diet. Physically, I’m a little fatigued,  but mentally I’m doing well and glad to be on the back-half of the diet. The scale said 149 today which means I’m down another 2 lbs. from last week.  Although I’m not doing this diet with a specific goal weight in mind (my goal is to lose as much body fat as possible in 12 weeks), it was nice to break into the 140’s and it’s a good indicator that I’m on the right track.

As most of us do when we start on diets, I started out this process really gung-ho, but I’ve experienced both ups and downs over the last 7 weeks. Being flown out to Arizona to be laid off was definitely a make or break moment. That was 3 1/2 weeks into my diet, and I broke down and had a milkshake that night. I was reeling from everything that had happened, and the thought of sitting in airports all night by myself sent me straight to Jack-in-the-Box for comfort food.

Oddly enough, though, the diet has sort of been my personal savior. It gave me something to focus on other than my job loss. Maybe even better, it is something I have complete control over. Yeah, sounds kind of corny and philosophical, but being able to say “I want to do this” and to actually do it, that’s a really powerful thing. (I think Tony Robbins would be proud of me :))

Hubby took some progress pictures of me tonight. Click here to see them or click on the Progress Pictures tab on the home page.

I’m enthusiastic about the next 5 weeks. Whatever happens, it will be fun to see the end result!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

PS – My amazing little sis Kate, the most creative, goal-oriented person I know, is now on Etsy!

Visit her store here: Citysteps Etsy Shop

4 Responses to “March 1 Progress Picture”

  1. Zach March 3, 2010 at 11:24 AM #

    That recipe looks great! We just made Algerian chicken tagine and the flavors were amazing.

    • Stephanie March 3, 2010 at 5:20 PM #

      It was by far the tastiest thing I’ve eaten in the last 2 months! Tons of great spices and herbs.

  2. Lisa March 3, 2010 at 11:16 AM #

    AMAZING PICS STEPH!! You look awesome! Watch out bikni season, Steph is coming at you buff and beautiful!!

  3. Kate March 1, 2010 at 11:45 PM #

    oh my GAWD sister — your abs REALLY ARE starting to look like Fergie’s!! You are radiant (in more than just a tan way) and you look awesome!! keep it up – can’t wait to come take some photos for you 🙂

Comments are closed.

