Am I tired or just bored?

3 Mar

“Am I tired or just bored?” is a question I ask myself all the time when I’m doing cardio. More often than not the answer is “I’m bored”, which I respond to myself by saying, “Keep going, because that’s no excuse to stop!”. (There is a lot of self-talk going on these days.)

It’s an important question to ask because a lot of times you realize you could keep going if you just, well, kept going! For example, between my AM and PM cardio sessions yesterday, I ran 8 miles and walked another 3. At my PM session, the last few miles were exhausting.  I really was tired! I kept going because I was determined to do 2 hours of cardio. But by honestly answering, “Am I tired or just bored?” during the first hour and a half, I was able to push on and meet my goal.

If you are like me and outdoor cardio isn’t really appealing so you do most of your cardio at the gym, seeing the same scenery over and over again can cause a cardio session to drag on F..O..R..E..V..E..R. I’m doing tons of cardio right now, and while I try to stay optimistic about it because it’s helping me to reach a goal, I still have to push myself all the time. I tend to be pretty impatient, and I like to do things quickly so for me it is a constant lesson in willpower.

All that being said, what helps me curb the boredom, at least a little?

  • Watching TV: Watching TV works, especially when I find a funny episode of Friends or when HGTV has an episode of House Hunters International Caribbean and I can daydream about being on sandy beaches.
  • Skipping around to different machines: Changing to a few different machines during my workout (say, after 20 or 30 minutes on the Elliptical, I’ll jump over to the treadmill) also helps to break things up. If it’s a particularly long session, I will even chunk it into two sessions with abs or calves in the middle.
  • Having a cardio buddy: I don’t often get the chance to do cardio with someone else, but I love it when I do because talking to a friend really does make the time fly by so much faster.
  • Listening to new songs: I’ve also found that adding new songs to my Ipod helps a lot because they make me happy. Ever notice how boredom also kind of goes along with feeling so-so? When I’m happy, I have much better cardio workouts.

What do you do to combat boredom? If you have any suggestions, please share!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

3 Responses to “Am I tired or just bored?”

  1. Jessica @ Fit & Clean March 3, 2010 at 9:24 PM #

    OMG, you look fantastic. You’re an inspiration! I saw you on the Clean Eating board and checked out your blog, I love it! Have a great night!

    • Stephanie March 3, 2010 at 9:39 PM #

      Thank you so much! I love that you say on your blog that real food is simple AND easy…I’m looking forward to trying the hummus! 🙂

  2. Kate March 3, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

    My gym only gets 3 tv stations, so I have taken to watching episodes of Cash Cab every morning while I work out. Mike makes fun of me, but I’m learning lots of good triva and it makes cardio go by so much faster!! On commercials i either turn to the news or my ipod. Don’t give up you are doing great!! xo, kt

Comments are closed.

