Regaining Focus

8 Mar

At times, this diet seemed like it was dragging on forever, but now that there are only 4 weeks left, I suddenly feel a little panicked. At first I wasn’t sure why I felt this way since 4 weeks is still quite a bit of time, but the truth is, I have started to get a little too comfortable. This has led to a little complacency in my diet, and resulted in me being afraid I won’t be able to meet my goal.

It is funny that although I’ve seen good results over the last 8 weeks, the momentum from the start of the diet has died down. While my training has been great (that’s the easy part for me),  I haven’t been as strict in my food choices over the past few weeks, snacking on more fats (from nuts/nut butters) and nibbling on additional carbs here and there when I cook. Granted, none of these things are “bad” foods, but they are outside the guidelines of my diet.  I’ve written about it before, but I think it is worth revisiting — when you are comfortable on a diet, let that be your red flag because you aren’t working hard enough. It’s so important because what you eat is 80-90% of your ability to succeed on a diet.

Nicole Wilkins Lee on the Cover of Muscle & Fitness HERS Jan/Feb 2010

I think we are all driven to be comfortable so anytime we aren’t, it takes massive willpower to stay outside of that comfort zone –even knowing that sacrifice now means amazing results later.

To regain some momentum and make these next 4 weeks count, I’ve started to follow an eating plan that Figure Olympia champion Nicole Wilkins Lee used 12 weeks before the Olympia (published in this month’s Muscle & Fitness HERS). It is pretty much inline with what I’m already doing, although there is some carb cycling throughout the week, which I think will help me continue to lose fat. The main thing is that it gives me a new goal  — to follow the diet spot on —  and will help me to stay on track.

This morning I did the Elliptical for 25 minutes and then did some high intensity interval training (HIIT) on the treadmill for 20 minutes. I love HIIT. It’s fun because you are constantly changing speeds and it’s less boring than the long-distance training. After I got home, I got a call from a recruiting agency I’m working with about a few temporary (6-month) positions at a bank in Charlotte. Although I’d much rather take a permanent position, I feel positive that there is some activity on the job front!

(A more focused) Steph

*Watch me do it*

One Response to “Regaining Focus”

  1. Kris March 15, 2010 at 8:59 AM #

    sorry, I know your post is from a week ago, but I’m trying to quickly skim back to see what you’ve been up to. How ironic that I stumbled across this one today! I am totally feeling that way! I am 10 wks into my training, with my next goal being May 1st, so a little over a month away. I have found the same thing. It wasn’t as hard to eat real portion sizes, eat even more veggies, more protein…I do still miss the carbs a bit, but it was getting much easier. Then Wham! I lost momentum! Yesterday I still ate clean healthy foods, but not in the way I have been. It was very discouraging. So I woke up this morning wondering where I was going to muster the drive to keep going at it hard…but I want the results that only come form hard work. Training is also the easier thing for me. I love lifting weights. Eating…I feel like I’m surrounded by resistance. I may have to go look for the MFHers mag. She looks amazing on the cover! I could so handle looking in the mirror and seeing that!

    ttyl
    Kris

Comments are closed.

