Tough!

11 Mar

Tonight was a tough one in the gym. I had another great cardio session this morning, but by this afternoon I was wiped. My hamstrings were sore from deadlifts yesterday, and every lunge today was just hard! I did 7 sets of lunges (after doing a set with no weights to warm up), first with 15 lb. dumbbells, then moving up to 20 lbs, 25 lbs., then 30 lbs, then back down. I do the last 3 sets with no rest in between. It burns my quads, but I was already burnt out before I started! I’m sure if I had a trainer yelling at me, I would have found it in me to do squats, but I let myself stop. I did some calves and got on the treadmill for 30 minutes of incline walking.

Since I started my diet this is the first time I’ve let myself sort of give in and not do my entire workout. And I actually feel a little guilty about it, even though I really am tired! There is such a fine line between giving yourself a pass one time for a good reason and making excuses because you just don’t want to do the work. This time I’ll just have to be at peace with giving myself a pass. I’ve had a great week eating-wise and I’m so happy that I woke up with lots of energy the past few days and put in great cardio workouts.

Quinoa

As for eating, quinoa has surpassed the sweet potato to become my new favorite thing to eat! I make it with half water and half reduced-sodium vegetable stock. My mom and I went to a big WholeFoods-esque health food store in Charlotte today and had so much fun walking around and looking at all the stuff. (I was telling her this morning how I was planning a trip to the Whole Foods in Winston-Salem since there isn’t one in Charlotte and she told me about this place.) I picked up some wasabi peas for Greg and some coconut milk kefir and fresh peanut butter for myself.

Really looking forward to my rest day tomorrow and date night with Greg. We are celebrating the awesome score he got on his MAT exam for his doctoral program!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

3 Responses to “Tough!”

  1. Kris March 15, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    hi there! I just started checking out your blog from a friend of mine on the Eat Clean blog (I think she said you were connected there as well). So far I’m really enjoying your posts:) It feels real, not scripted, so thank you!

    7 sets of lunges! holy sh** girl good for you:)

    I am eager to know how you prepare your quinoa. I love it as well and want to incorporate it more frequently, possibly at breakfast. What’s the fastest or easiest way? Do you reheat it? I’m hoping I can do this not in the microwave…I find it makes everything…dry…and bot as good.

    Anyhow, hope to hear from you soon.

    Kris

  2. Jessica @ Fit & Clean March 13, 2010 at 3:20 PM #

    I wanted you to know how much I’m enjoying your blog! I love seeing transformations in people…(as well as myself, LOL) Keep it up! Have a nice weekend šŸ™‚

    • Stephanie March 13, 2010 at 3:39 PM #

      You are so sweet, thank you! I really like reading yours too- you have great ideas for stuff to eat. Biscuit is SO cute too!

Comments are closed.

