Yada yada yada and a muffin recipe

13 Mar

I don’t know why but for some reason it is easier to diet in the winter. When the weather starts to warm up like it is now,  I really have to start digging deep for that willpower because I just want to play. I’m pushing on though – just 3 short weeks until I hit my goal date!

This morning I went to the local Farmer’s Market with my friend Lauren and Eden, who just moved into Lauren’s neighborhood. The market is small right now and there wasn’t a lot of produce, so I got some collard greens and bought some rib eye steaks from a local farm for my husband Greg. I’ve never made collards before but tonight we are going over to Lauren’s house for dinner and she’s going to teach  me how to cook them. I’m not a big leafy-green veggie girl, although I’m trying to find recipes I like so I’ll eat more of them.

I did an hour of cardio today, no lifting. I ran 3 miles, then sprinted for 20 minutes, then ran another mile. I pushed myself and it felt good. I ran an 8 1/2 minute mile between the first and third miles, which was a new accomplishment for me. The quickest I’ve ever run a mile is in 10 minutes. It’s amazing how in four months’ time I’ve gone from “I hate running” to “I can’t wait to run!”. Weird how that stuff happens sometimes. I think it’s a combination of seeing results and feeling really good about myself when I’ve finished my workout.

I am posting a great muffin recipe below that is very easy to make (always a prerequisite for anything I cook). One of these muffins + Greek yogurt + fruit + tea makes an awesome breakfast. The recipe is a combination of 2 muffin recipes that I love, both of which I wanted to make a little cleaner and healthier. Basically, I replaced vegetable oil with flax and took out the white sugar by adding banana. I took out the butter altogether.

Banana Oats and Flax Muffins

3 1/2 c. oats (not the quick-cooking kind)

2/3 c. 0% cow’s milk or soy milk

3 very ripe bananas, mashed

4 egg whites

3 TBSP ground golden flax seed

1 TBSP water

1 TBSP baking powder

1 c. coarsely ground chopped walnuts

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. cardamom

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

MIX oats, milk, and bananas and allow to stand at least 30 minutes.

PREHEAT oven to 375 degrees. Add all other ingredients to oats mixture, stirring after each addition until completely blended.

SPRAY regular-sized muffin tins with olive oil. Fill tins even with top. Bake 15-18 minutes or until lightly brown. (Check at 15 minutes – baked perfectly, these muffins are nice and moist, but over-baking will turn them into bricks!) Remove from oven and cool about 15 minutes before removing from pan.

VARIATION: Use 1/2 c. nuts and 1/2 c. cut dried fruit (e.g., dates, cranberries) or 1 c. dried fruit in place of nuts.

TO SERVE: These muffins aren’t super sweet, so you may want to drizzle some honey on them. Although not “clean” eating,  sugar-free pancake syrup is also really good as well.

TO STORE: Wrap each muffin individually in plastic wrap and freeze. To defrost, microwave on high for 1 1/2 minutes.

My next post will be on Monday, and I’ll post a new progress picture that day as well.

Steph

*Watch me do it*

