Targeting those glutes

25 Mar

Since splitting my legs over two days (hamstrings on Wednesdays and quads/calves on Thursdays), my lower-body workouts have improved dramatically. I do more exercises and I train harder, which was exactly what I was going for since my legs have always been a “problem” area for me. From my hips to my calves, I carry extra fat. Because my upper body has always been relatively “thin” (and that means everywhere, unfortunately), sometimes I feel like my upper body and my lower body were not meant to go together!

The diet has definitely helped the muscle I’ve built in my quads and hamstrings come through more than ever , and I’m so excited to see that squats really do pay off! However, I still feel like I have a long way to go to really get the legs and butt I want. We all know that targeting a certain area for fat loss is futile, so other than eating clean and being consistent, I was stumped about what else I could do.

________

Enter Greg. He suggested that I target my glutes specifically, which is something I’ve never done before. Of course most leg exercises hit the glutes, but that muscle group has never really been a focal point for me. His point was that it would help me to build more muscle there and as a result become more shapely and toned.

So today for the first time, I did the standing glute machine (the one where you push back a weighted bar one leg at a time). I can already feel it, so I’m excited to continue to add more glute-specific exercises into my training. It’s possible I will go to a 5-day split in a few weeks and include a day of just abs and glutes.

The diet was great today – low carb and spot on.  I took NO EXPLODE before the gym tonight to give me some energy and it worked. I had a great workout.

It’s technically rest day tomorrow but I might sneak in some early AM cardio. Got to end the diet on a high note so I can keep the momentum going for the NEXT goal!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

6 Responses to “Targeting those glutes”

  1. Greg March 26, 2010 at 2:57 PM #

    Please note that I love your glutes just the way they are. I am particularly fond of the left one. I LOVE YOU ! ! ! Hang in there only a couple weeks to go.

    • Stephanie March 26, 2010 at 3:52 PM #

      You are so silly! Thanks bb. You know I couldn’t have done this without your support!

  2. Erica March 26, 2010 at 10:56 AM #

    I found you on eatcleandiet.com and have read through your entire blog…great work. I’m hoping that you will continue with the blog even after your target goal date. Can’t wait to see how you will maintain the body you have carefully built

    • Stephanie March 26, 2010 at 1:12 PM #

      Thanks Erica! I will definitely continue…it’s a life-long project 🙂

      Whats your handle on eat clean? Are we “friended”?

  3. Jillian March 25, 2010 at 11:30 PM #

    I bet if you were able to tell 20-yr-old Stephanie that you would be doing this in nine years, she would be like no WAY. Great job sister! keep it up.

    • Stephanie March 26, 2010 at 7:29 AM #

      Great point! Even 25 year old Stephanie 🙂

Comments are closed.

