A short post of random thoughts

29 Mar
  • Today would technically be another progress picture day but next Sunday (April 4) is the official end of my 12-Week diet so I’m going to wait to post pictures on April 5. Greg turned to me in the car yesterday and said, “You actually did it!”. We were laughing because when I told him in the beginning about my diet, he was supportive but admits he was also a little skeptical. I said to him at the time, “Just watch me do it”. Finally, I have discovered how to use my stubbornness in a good way!
  • I love being in the gym now and seeing more cuts come in. I had so much fun working out yesterday. Despite cutting my carbs, I was throwing around more weight yesterday than I have in a while and in some cases ever! I was pumped and full of energy.
  • I ate coconut oil for the first time this morning. I added 1 TBSP to my oats. It made it nice and creamy. I’ve still got more research to do on it, but from the research and testimonials I’ve read so far, I felt like I was missing out by not eating it. I probably won’t have anymore this week, but after April 4, I’ll figure out a good proportion to add into my diet.
  • I am going to buy a new bikini today,and I’m excited to go try some on at Victoria’s Secret. (My sister told me about a great style that doesn’t cut into your hips called Tanga.) I tried some suits on at Target the other day and most were flattering on the top but the bottoms weren’t great. That was part of my motivation for targeting my glutes and building more muscle there. I know I can tighten it up, I just have to work hard at it and focus more on that area.
  • I realized that energy supplements are so helpful on a low carb/low calorie diet.Β  I take No Explode daily now and I am having much better workouts. Sort of a “duh” moment.
  • I have started to compile a bunch of statistics from my diet and training journal.Β  At the end of my diet, I will post an article called “A 12-Week Diet By the Numbers”. It will be a quantitative look at the amounts of different foods eaten, time spent in the gym, money spent on supplements, etc. over the 12-week period. I love stuff like that and I thought it would be a fun thing to share.

Steph

*Watch me do it*

9 Responses to “A short post of random thoughts”

  1. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA March 30, 2010 at 4:20 PM #

    Hi! I found your blog from the Tosca Reno Forum site. You look amazing!!!! You should be so proud! Glad you proved the hubby wrong πŸ˜‰ (I’m stubborn too!, Lol)

    Do you eat the same diet every day (the one listed under ‘Diet and Training’ or do you switch it up to prevent boredom?

    Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    • Stephanie March 30, 2010 at 5:22 PM #

      Hey Lauren! I actually checked out your site a few weeks ago – you were the one that posted about the Green Monster, right? I put frozen broccoli in my protein smoothies which everyone thinks is gross — but they haven’t tried it!

      Thanks for your note — yes, I do change up what I eat, but not a whole lot. Sometimes instead of a shake I feel like something I can cut up and chew, so I’ll “bake” some protein powder in the microwave. I still eat a lot of green beans and broccoli because those are my faves, but I’ve branched out to kale, collards, and spinach too. I haven’t done much of the fattier proteins (like salmon) these last few weeks; have been keeping it mostly chicken and lean turkey.

      • Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA April 1, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

        Yup that was me πŸ™‚ I also put spinach or kale in my smoothies. So good!!

  2. Kris March 29, 2010 at 2:10 PM #

    hey there,
    can’t wait to see the 12 week pics! Congrats on making it:)
    Today was the end of my 12 wks, but my goal is dot done for another 4 (16 wks total+a big volleyball tourney:)

    Today I feel like I am doing a lot of reflecting. Did you have days like that? Where it’s just kind of grey out, which makes you want to snack all day…I’m kinda missing my miniwheats…lame, I know. I tried picking up my oxygen mag, but with my 2 youngest at home it’s all I can do to find time to send this! Just a blah day, and I have 4 wks to go! It feels like I’ve already put in a lot of work for 10lbs and a few inches:)

    I’m curious to know what you think of the coconut oil. was it hard to find?

    Take care,
    Kris

    • Stephanie March 29, 2010 at 7:22 PM #

      Hey Kris! Thanks so much for your note. Did you find my blog through the Eat Clean forums? If so, have you posted pics of your progress? Congrats on the 12 weeks!!

      I totally know what you mean about reflecting and on those gray days, I have to pull out a lot of my motivational material! You have gotten so far, it’ll be no time at all you will be at your volleyball tourney looking like a ROCKSTAR!

      I’ve read so many benefits of the coconut oil, that I had to try it. I don’t know what I think yet — i think I’ll need to incorporate it into my diet for at least 4-8 weeks, or maybe even longer, to really assess how I like it. It wasn’t hard to find–I would look in the organic section of your grocery store. It comes in a glass jar. You can even find it on Ebay. Let me know if you get some and what you think.

      Steph

      • Kris March 29, 2010 at 8:32 PM #

        thx for the understanding comments:) My entire day got rearranged, and I didn’t even get to work out…but that’s ok. I’m human, and it’s just one day, right?

        I will be looking for the coconut oil. I read 2 tbsp /day…any idea how many calories that is? I’m not into calorie counting per se, but it would be nice to know if I’m consuming something like nuts where the count is really high, compared to what olive oil might have…

        lookin’ forward to seeing your Rockstar pics:)

      • Stephanie March 30, 2010 at 8:22 AM #

        Honestly, I can’t imagine trying to do this with kids, so kudos to you!

        Mine coconut oil is 120 calories per TBSP. By the way, I don’t know if you’ve seen it before, but the consistency is more like butter. It melts when it’s heated up. I had no idea and thought I bought a bad jar!

  3. Nancy P. March 29, 2010 at 10:50 AM #

    I can’t wait to see your final picture! Also, I am looking forward to your A-12 week diet by the numbers…thanks for doing this blog. I really enjoy it!!

    • Stephanie March 29, 2010 at 1:51 PM #

      Thanks Nancy!! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

