Two firsts and one second

31 Mar

I am so behind this morning — I turned off my alarm at 5:00 and got up when my husband’s alarm went off at 6:15. I was sleepy and didn’t feel like doing my pre-Meal 1 cardio but after a few short speeches to myself (beginning with “lazy” and ending with “now!”) I downed a scoop of No Explode, quickly made some lunch for Greg, and was out the door. I did 20 minutes on the treadmill and 25 minutes on the Elliptical/stair-stepper hybrid machine (I have no idea what it’s really called but it kicks butt!).

I chose not to run or walk today because I got my first “injury” a few days ago. Although I had hoped it would go away, it has continued to nag me. Between my friend Lauren, Greg, and WebMD, we have diagnosed it as tendinitis near my left ankle. It starts to really hurt when I walk around a lot so I’m trying to rest it as much as possible (but that doesn’t mean I won’t go to the gym!).

I experienced another first yesterday — a healthy cooking class put on by a local woman that runs a small catering company. She knows a lot about the nutritional benefits of different types of foods and made us four different dishes, including naan bread (an Indian flat bread made with yogurt) topped with caramelized onions and Gorgonzola cheese.  We also learned about the benefits of turmeric (it causes cancer sells to “commit suicide”) and asparagus, which apparently we should all be feeding to our husbands in large quantities on a regular basis (I’ll let you Google that one if you don’t know what I’m talking about).

Anyway, it was a really fun thing to do and although I’m on the diet, I tasted everything she made, including a sweet potato dish with oats and raisins. It’s important to be able to do things like that when dieting and not freak out over it. I weighed in today at 146 lbs., which is 2 lbs down from my last progress picture on March 15.

I am working on a second website that I’ll talk about more in later posts — still hashing out all the details. The idea was formed after cleaning out my closet and realizing I have a boat load of designer jeans I can’t wear anymore, and some that I’ve bought and either never worn or only worn a few times. I know this happens to many women because our bodies are changing all the time (going on and off diets, getting pregnant, etc.) and I wanted to create a place where we can buy and sell our jeans for less. Sort of like a jean swap without the hassle of an auction site. Like I said, there is a lot to be done still, but I’m excited about getting it up and going.

Steph

*Watch me do it*

2 Responses to “Two firsts and one second”

  1. citysteps March 31, 2010 at 11:49 AM #

    was the cooking class expensive?! it is so cool that you did that!! plus, i feel like you always learn cool new little tips at those things.

    • Stephanie March 31, 2010 at 1:37 PM #

      It was just $10 and she was so prepared and fun. We started by getting a little plate of the spinach and garbanzo bean salad with yogurt turmeric sauce she made and ate it while she talked about it. Then she went on to cook other things, each with the purpose of adding in super nutritious foods to your diet. The naan bread with carmelized onion and Gorgonzola (or goat) cheese is a MUST MAKE. you would love it.

Comments are closed.

