The End (of Goal #1) and Progress Pictures!

5 Apr

Wow! Made it to the end of the diet. From January 10 – April 4, or for 84 days, I followed a bodybuilding diet of high protein and low carbs. I trained hard in the gym, adding in 2-a-days at Week 6.

And it paid off.

I got lean and a heck of a lot harder than I was at my start date. I took off probably about 15 lbs. and shed a lot of fat. Don’t know exactly how much body fat or weight I lost, but I lost enough to go down two full jean sizes. That and the mirror says it all.

I’ve posted a couple pictures that we took of me yesterday on my final day of dieting. Don’t love the quality of them, but Greg and I will take a few more today that I’ll post. I’m starting to see a lot more vascularity in my lower abs (sort of weird but cool at the same time!) and in my biceps. WordPress came up with a slide show option, so it should be easier to see the 12-week progression now.

The lower carb diet has been wonderful for me — and I also starting counting my protein grams and realized I was getting 200g + per day, which is amazing!! I will continue to eat a lot of protein off this diet because it will help me build more muscle. I’m getting about 1.5g per pound of body weight right now fairly consistently, which really should drive some good results in the gym.

My next post will be about my new goal…I’ve got a few, actually. Some are more longer-term than others, but I have at least one short-term goal with an end date of May 10, 2010, my 30th birthday. I’ll continue to post progress pictures as I follow that goal and others. I’m also analyzing my journal from the past 12 weeks for my “12-Week Diet By the Numbers” post, which I’ll have up in a week or two.

Steph

Watch me do it!

6 Responses to “The End (of Goal #1) and Progress Pictures!”

  1. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA April 6, 2010 at 2:59 PM #

    Holy ABS!!!!!! You have an AMAZING bod girl!!! You should be very proud 🙂

    • Stephanie April 6, 2010 at 9:48 PM #

      Thanks Lauren!!

  2. Makeover April 5, 2010 at 8:56 PM #

    You look fab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are such a gorgeous girl inside and out….. show it off baby… you deserve it and should be very proud!

    I can’t belive you are at 1.5g of body weight in protein… you didn’t tell me that!!!!! Way to go… will send an email to you…..l have a question or two!

    Keep smiin!!!!! It looks great on you!

    • Stephanie April 6, 2010 at 9:50 PM #

      Thanks D! Time for YOU to post progress pictures!! Can’t wait to read your blog.

  3. Kris April 5, 2010 at 8:19 AM #

    wow! amazing girl:) Your pictures say it all. After how many weeks did you start breaking up your weight training so that it wasn’t a full body workout?because the definition in your legs is great!!!
    I can’t wait to see your ‘by the numbers’ and watch as you make it through your next goal. Congrats, you deserve it:)

    • Stephanie April 6, 2010 at 9:51 PM #

      Thanks Kris! I did a 4-day split the entire time. I’ve never done full-body training. I like focusing on one or two muscle groups at a time. For the 12-week diet, this included splitting up quads and hamstrings on two separate days too.

Comments are closed.

