Spaghetti-meatball-ice cream crazy

8 Apr

My sister Kate said an interesting thing to me yesterday. She said that my worry about going spaghetti-meatball-ice cream crazy off the diet was disappointing because she thought I was totally “cured” from cravings for the “bad” stuff. I guess my enthusiasm during the diet, while completely and totally honest, made it seem like I became some veggie-protein-aholic, and at the same time a staunch hater of everything greasy, fatty, carby, and sugary.

Well, that is true to an extent. But bad habits don’t die in 12 weeks. At least once a month I have to fight like hell not to eat everything in sight! Spaghetti and ice cream still does look good to me, only now I think, “How can I make that cleaner?” If I can’t, I don’t eat it, or if I really want it, it becomes a once-in-a-while treat.  It’s a completely different attitude about food, but it’s still not completely effortless. And I don’t expect it to be for a long time.

For years now, one of my favorite hobbies has been training and learning about nutrition. But this year, instead of wishing I looked a certain way, I finally was ready to go all the way with it. I’ve found my passion and I love pursuing it.

So while it’s not always quinoa and lentil dreams right now, that’s all in due time. Now I’m content with continuing to build those self-discipline muscles and counting the small victories.

Steph

Watch me do it!

2 Responses to “Spaghetti-meatball-ice cream crazy”

  1. Kris April 8, 2010 at 8:37 PM #

    hey there, congrats again:)
    I have been following along for a bit now and was hoping to get your opinion on a few things…

    Are you still taking the coconut oil?

    I’m still trying to lean out about 10 lbs but also put on muscle size in my shoulders and strength in my legs for jumping (plyo yeah!) Sometimes I have to work out when the kids go to bed (7:30) so I wouldn’t normally eat after that time (maybe just a cup of tea. But I don’t want to be breaking down muscle tissue. I did notice you took BCAA’s. Do you think this would help? Wouldn’t it go against my weight loss goals to eat a meal 6 with protein that late in the day?

    Thanks in advance for taking the time:)
    Kris

    • Stephanie April 8, 2010 at 9:24 PM #

      Hey Kris – Yes, still taking the coconut oil – 1 TBSP a day with my oatmeal in the morning. I’ve read that coconut is good for people with Ulcerative Colitis, which I have, so I’ve been using it for that reason too. I’m not sure if the BCAA helped to be honest. I quit taking it after I ran out. I think the glutamine is the most important for muscle recovery. And no, I don’t think it would go against your weight loss goals to eat a meal 6 after you work out. I actually think you’d be missing out if you didn’t. I would keep it lean, like a protein and a veggie and no carb. I don’t agree with Tosca that you shouldn’t eat after 6 or 7 at night. I understand not consuming carbs before bed, but you need that protein!

Comments are closed.

