A new training split

9 Apr

Every 6-8 weeks or I like to change up my training split so I can focus on different things and avoid plateaus. At the end of my diet, it was about time to make some changes, so I committed to this split until June.

SUNDAY: Chest/light shoulder/Abs

MONDAY: Arms

TUESDAY: Abs

WEDNESDAY: Hamstring/glutes/heavy shoulder

THURSDAY: Quads/calves/Abs

FRIDAY: Rest

SATURDAY: Back

There are a few reasons I like this split. First, it gives me two days a week for shoulders, one lighter day and one heavier day. I want to build up my shoulders, and focusing on them twice a week will help me do that.

I’ve also added in three abs days, which means that I will be doing 3-4 exercises of weighted abs on those days. Time to get that Fergie six pack going!

You’ll see that my split still has a full rest day, which is very important for recovery and muscle growth. Although I love training and could do it everyday, I think incorporating some rest each week has done wonders for me over the past 3 months.

Finally, because building more leg muscle is important to me, I’ve continued to split my hamstrings and quads into two days so I can really hit them hard. I’ve also added in glutes with hamstrings so I can target those muscles specifically (instead of secondarily with my other leg exercises).

Buns of steel anyone? Me! Me! Me!!

Steph

*Watch me do it*

2 Responses to “A new training split”

  1. Stephanie April 9, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

    Really? That’s awesome! I LOVE ’80s fitness magazines and videos!! They are so fun! I only wish leotards, scrunchy socks, and sweatbands were back in style.

  2. Zach April 9, 2010 at 12:01 PM #

    Wow, my mom used to have that video! I might be able to get it for you if you want!

Comments are closed.

