Ok, Oxygen, let’s see what you got

17 Apr

Since I changed my training split, I do back on Saturdays. I have known for a while that I’ve needed to do something new with my back training. I don’t really think about back that much. I just do 3-5 exercises on back day to get through it and move on. My lack of focus shows because by now I should have bigger back muscles and a better V-taper. But I don’t, and I want to do something about it.

So I’m thinking about all of this and I noticed that the latest Oxygen magazine has an entire article dedicated to back training specifically for getting that coveted V-shape. I’ve never followed much advice from Oxygen (or any other magazine) about training, but I decided that I will try the back routine that was outlined in the article. If anything, I will be able to form a good opinion about what I think of Oxygen’s training advice!

My new back day will look like this:

  • 3 sets of 6-8 reps ea. of barbell rows
  • 3 sets of 10-12 reps ea. of wide grip pull down
  • 3 sets of 10-12 reps ea. of close grip pull down
  • 3 sets of 10-12 reps ea. of seated row

I’m going to do this routine for the next two months (8 weeks), and I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of results I get. I’ll have Greg take some pictures of my back today and I’ll post them and compare them to “progress” pictures in June.

Update: 9:15pm 4/17/2010 – Wow! That was such a great workout today — I really must have been wimping out on my back…I was exhausted by the end of the 3rd exercise. Now I wonder what else I’ve been slacking off on!! Greg and I forgot to take a back picture today, but I’ll post one tomorrow.

At the gym after quads and calves yesterday

Steph

*Watch me do it*

