Mr. Guilt

23 Apr

Before I started my 12-week diet and my lifestyle change, I was constantly ridden with a nagging sense of guilt about my eating habits. I knew I was eating too much, had way too many white carbs and far too many sugars in my diet.

Mr. Guilt was nagging me day in, day out.

This isn’t surprising since I was also listening to Mr. Easy at the time. While Mr. Easy is always lurking around somewhere, Mr. Guilt only shows up when you are taking Mr. Easy’s advice.

Mr. Easy actually may be the nicer of the two — at least he wants you to feel good, even if it is only for a few minutes. Mr. Easy says things like, “Sleep in and skip cardio today, you’ll make it up tomorrow” and “Have ice cream every night! You’ve only got one life, right?”.

Mr. Easy will lead you down the wrong path, but Mr. Guilt is just downright mean. He makes you remember every little detail of things you regret doing. Mr. Guilt says, “Remember that ice cream you had last night? Yeah, now it’s stuck to your hips forever. You shouldn’t have eaten it. You really should have just ignored Mr. Easy.” And he’ll go on and on until you feel absolutely miserable.

Unfortunately, you can’t get mad at Mr. Guilt and mentally “punch” him in the face like you can with Mr. Easy. Mr. Guilt will just laugh at you and continue to nag you all day long. The only way to send Mr. Guilt packing is to ignore Mr. Easy.

Recently, I realized I don’t wake up every day hearing Mr. Guilt anymore. I don’t miss him at all! And when I do start to hear him, I know I’ve been listening to Mr. Easy a little too much and that’s my signal to get back on track.

Steph

*Watch me do it*

2 Responses to “Mr. Guilt”

  1. angela1508 April 24, 2010 at 11:46 AM #

    Hey Steph! That’s SO true!! Good for you for recognizing the need to get back on top of things. You sound like you’re definitely in control of the situation (after all – look how much progress you’ve already made!)
    Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • Stephanie April 25, 2010 at 7:48 AM #

      It’s a constant process!

Comments are closed.

